Alumni eNewsletter: 2008 LCCF & GUAA award recipients announced (Archives)

The Gallaudet University Alumni Association (GUAA) and Laurent Clerc Cultural Fund (LCCF) Committee are pleased to announce the 2008 award winners. The winners will be honored at the 39th Annual Charter Day Luncheon and Awards Program on Saturday, April 5, 2008 at the Peikoff Alumni House ("Ole Jim"). More details will be forthcoming.

GUAA Outstanding Young Alumnus Award-- to a young alumnus or alumna of Gallaudet University of the past 15 years who has performed some impressive service to the University and/or the deaf community, or who has brought recognition to our alma mater through some notable achievement in his/her personal or professional life.
Trudy Suggs,'95 (MN)

GUAA Pauline "Polly" Peikoff "Service to Others"Award-- to an individual, hearing or deaf, from within the deaf community who has contributed of himself or herself, especially as a volunteer, to the community.
Norman Finkelstein (FL)

LCCF Alice Cogswell Award--for valuable service on behalf of deaf people.
Lawrence Hott (MA)
Oscar Cohen (NY)

LCCF Edward Miner Gallaudet Award -- for recognition of national or international leaders for promoting the well-being of deaf people.
Helga Stevens (Belgium)

LCCF Amos Kendall Award -- to a deaf person for notable excellence in a professional field not related to deafness.
James Macfadden, '62 (MD)

Posted: 18 Dec 2007

Home | Alumni eNewsletter | Archives | Lost Alumni | Update Your Information