Alumni eNewsletter: Comments needed for the Kellogg Conference Hotel Meeting Room names (Archives)

The Gallaudet University Recognition Committee received a request from Mr. Gary Aller, Executive Director, Business and Support Services, to name 10 main rooms at the Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gallaudet University (KCH) which was opened in 1995. Rooms include the Ballroom, Executive Boardroom, and eight meeting rooms on the first and second floors.

In response to Mr. Aller’s request, the Recognition Committee established the KCH Room Naming Committee to come up with a list of names for 10 rooms for the Recognition Committee’s review.

In March, the campus community and the alumni submitted more than 60 names to the KCH Room Naming Committee. After an extensive review, the committee trimmed the list down to 20 names and now asks the campus community and alumni to help further reduce the list – from 20 to 10 names. Based on this round of input, the committee will make a final recommendation to the University Recognition Committee this fall.

To help us prepare our final recommendations, the committee will appreciate you taking time to reflect and comment on these names before August 26.

You may send comments by email to, or through campus mail to the attention of Sam Sonnenstrahl, Peikoff Alumni House.

According to the procedures as defined by the Recognition Committee, President Jordan will make the final selection.

The Room Naming Committee consists of Sam Sonnenstrahl (Alumni Relations Office), Chair, Lindsay Dunn (President’s Office), Tawny Holmes (SBG President), Mike Kaika (GUAA Board Member), Michael Olson (Staff), and Dr. Stephen Weiner (Faculty) and Fred Weiner (University Recognition Committee Chair), Ex-Officio. Rebecca (Bobbie) Boswell serves as the staff support person.

Posted: 24 May 2005

Home | Alumni eNewsletter | Archives | Lost Alumni | Update Your Information