Alumni eNewsletter: Commencement 2006 honorary degree recipients, speaker, and professor emeritus named (Archives)

Honorary degree recipients at the May 12, 2006, Commencement exercises will be Ed Waterstreet, '68, founder of Deaf West Theatre and producer of the nationally acclaimed play ''Big River," and Bernice Reagon, founder of the women's a capella group Sweet Honey in the Rock.

Ken Chlouber, who established the Leadville 100 ultramarathon race--and in doing so almost single-handedly saved the town of Leadville, Colo., from becoming a ghost town--will be Commencement speaker. The first Leadville race was held in 1983 with 45 runners; last August the race drew 450 runners, among them President Jordan, who was competing in his eleventh Leadville 100.

Dr. James Fernandes, a faculty member in the Department of Communication Studies from 1975 until his retirement last May, will be designated professor emeritus during Commencement.

Posted: 2 Dec 2005

Home | Alumni eNewsletter | Archives | Lost Alumni | Update Your Information